Bulat Utemuratov

Bulat Utemuratov – Founder of the Foundation

Bulat Utemuratov is a diplomatist, businessman and philanthropist. He is in the top of the Kazakhstan Forbes List. He is a key shareholder of the Verny Capital Group of Companies.
The sphere of his business interests covers finances, telecommunication and media, hotel business, real estate, natural resources, transport and logistics, consumer goods and services.
Bulat Utemuratov’s public activity is aimed at the assistance in development of education and public health service, support of sports, advancement of cultural values as well as the help in housing problems solving of multi-child families and persons affected by man-made disasters. When providing charitable assistance, the Foundation is guided by the principles of expediency, transparency, efficiency and targeted fund spending.

So, from the beginning of the coronavirus pandemic, the Verny Capital Group of Companies sent USD 1 million to the republican foundation for combating coronavirus infection. Additionally, the Bulat Utemuratov's Foundation allocated 200 million Tenge for the purchase of highly effective rapid tests, which were transferred to the Public Health Departments of Nur-Sultan and Almaty for free testing of risk-group citizens. Later, at the initiative of the Bulat Utemuratov’s Foundation, two mobile PCR laboratories were purchased and donated to the Ministry of Health of the Republic of Kazakhstan. During the peak of coronavirus infection in Kazakhstan, in June-July 2020, thanks to the efforts of trained teams of specialists from both laboratories, work was arranged to timely identify persons infected with COVID-19 in Almaty and Nur-Sultan.  
After the dam break in the Makhtaaral region in May 2020, the philanthropist publicly announced the allocation of USD 6 million for the construction of 150 houses for affected families in the region. The large-scale construction of houses in Myrzakent settlement was the second project to provide housing for Kazakhstan citizens affected by disasters. A year earlier, 100 families who lost their houses during the explosion at the ammunition depot in Arys were provided with new houses.   
The Narxoz University, which has been standing under Bulat Utemuratov's patronage since 2006, intends to become a leading provider of specialists in business, law and social sciences, as well as a hub of talents, which attracts the youth from the whole Central Asia for education, researches, sharing knowledge and experience. Over USD 40 million was invested in modernization of the educational process, engaging international experts, equipment of the University, as well as development of the sports and social infrastructure. 

«The University transformation was one of the most important non-commercial social projects for us, because creation of a worthy educational system and a fundamental base established on the best world practices is important for the country's economic development», — Utemuratov said. 

Since 2016, the Verny Capital Group of Companies has acted as a sponsor of the scholarship program for 270 gifted students of the Narxoz University. 20 students received the Bulat Utemuratov’s scholarships “Future Business Leaders”. 
Another charity educational project is successful in Kazakhstan, i.e. the network of Haileybury British schools in the cities of Almaty and Nur-Sultan. Students of the Haileybury Kazakhstan are the winners of international academic, sports and creative competitions, and school leavers enter the best universities of the world.
In 2007, Bulat Utemuratov has become the President of the Tennis Federation of Kazakhstan. In 2017, his efforts for tennis development were recognized by the premiums of the International Tennis Federation and the Asian Tennis Federation "for outstanding achievements in tennis development in Kazakhstan”. In October 2020, Kazakhstan was for the first time entrusted to hold the prestigious tennis tournament ATP 250 Astana Open in Nur-Sultan. The efforts of the Tennis Federation to organize the tournament during the pandemic in compliance with all sanitary and hygienic standards were highly appreciated by the ATP. 
Bulat Utemuratov is a member of the Board of Directors of the International Tennis Federation (ITF) and from October 2019 he is one of four Vice Presidents of ITF. 
Total amount of the funds allocated by the philanthropist for tennis development in Kazakhstan, namely, formation of national teams, running the national and international competitions, development of children’s tennis and construction of tennis infrastructure is about USD 85 million. 
The Team Kazakhstan Project deserves special attention, since it gives the chance to Kazakhstan athletes to consolidate themselves among the best players. This is a unique sports school created to form its own tennis reserve players in the national teams of the Davis Cup and the Federation Cup. In general, about 40 international tournaments of ITF, ITF futures, ITF Juniors, ATF and ATP Challenger are held annually in Kazakhstan.

«Creation of infrastructure, development of children's tennis and hard work of a professional team of managers and coaches led Kazakhstan tennis to a qualitatively new international level. I am sure that using this approach in other sports will allow Kazakhstan becoming one of the main centers for holding significant sporting events, including world ones», — Bulat Utemuratov summarized 10-year work as the head of the Tennis Federation.

Bulat Utemuratov actively supports culture and art. He is the Chairman of the Board of Guardians of the Foundation for Ballet and National Dance Development and Support, supports the Foundation named after Kazakhstan musician Batyrkhan Shukenov, finances the republican competition of wooden and brass wind instruments and scholarships for talented young students of music schools and universities throughout the country. Regular exhibitions of Kulanshi Center for Contemporary Art are held under his patronage at the Forte Bank Kulanshi Art Space. Bulat Utemuratov is a honorary guardian of the Nazarbayev Foundation. Bulat Utemuratov was awarded the title of "Honorary Citizen of Almaty" in September 2020 for his contribution to the development of Almaty and charitable assistance provided during the coronavirus pandemic.

Булат утемуратов

Булат Утемуратов – Основатель – Фонд Булата Утемуратова

Булат Утемуратов — дипломат, бизнесмен, меценат. Входит в топ казахстанского списка Forbes. Ключевой пайщик группы компаний «Верный Капитал».

Сфера деловых интересов охватывает финансы, телеком и медиа, гостиничный бизнес, недвижимость, природные ресурсы, транспорт и логистику, потребительские товары и услуги.

Общественная деятельность Булата Утемуратова направлена на содействие развитию образования и здравоохранения, поддержку спорта, продвижение культурных ценностей, а также помощь в решении жилищных вопросов многодетных семей и лиц, пострадавших от техногенных катастроф.  При оказании благотворительной помощи Фонд руководствуется принципами целесообразности, прозрачности, оперативности и целевого расходования средств.

Так, с началом пандемии коронавируса группа компаний «Верный Капитал» направила 1 млн долларов в республиканский фонд противодействия коронавирусной инфекции. Дополнительно Фонд Булата Утемуратова выделил 200 млн тенге на покупку высокоэффективных экспресс-тестов, которые были переданы Управлениям общественного здоровья гг. Нур-Султан и Алматы для бесплатного тестирования граждан из групп риска. Позже по инициативе Фонда Булата Утемуратова были приобретены и переданы в дар Мининистерству здравоохранения РК   две мобильные ПЦР-лаборатории. В период  пика короновирусной инфекции в Казахстане, в июне-июле 2020 года, благодаря усилиям обученных команд специалистов обеих лабораторий была налажена работа по своевременному выявлению лиц, зараженных COVID-19, в Алматы и Нур-Султане.  
После прорыва дамбы в Махтааральском районе, в мае 2020 года меценат публично заявил о выделении 6 млн долларов США на строительство 150 домов для пострадавших семей района. Масштабное строительство домов в п. Мырзакент стало вторым проектом по обеспечению жильем казахстанцев, пострадавших во время катастроф. Годом ранее новые дома получили 100 семей, лишившиеся крова во время взрыва склада боеприпасов в г.Арыс.   

Университет Нархоз, который находится под патронажем Булата Утемуратова с 2006 года,  нацелен стать ведущим провайдером специалистов в сфере бизнеса, юриспруденции и социальных наук, а также хабом талантов, который привлекает молодежь со всей Центральной Азии для обучения, проведения исследований, обмена знаниями и опытом. Более 40 миллионов долларов США было вложено в модернизацию учебного процесса, привлечение международных экспертов, техническое оснащение вуза, а также развитие спортивной и социальной инфраструктуры. 

«Преобразование университета было для нас одним из важнейших некоммерческих социальных проектов, потому что для развития экономики страны важно создание достойной образовательной системы, фундаментальной базы, опирающейся на лучшие мировые практики», — отмечает Булат Утемуратов.

С 2016 года группа компаний "Верный Капитал" выступила спонсором стипендиальной программы для 270 одаренных студентов Университета Нархоз. 20 учащихся получили именные стипендии Булата Утемуратова «Будущие бизнес-лидеры».

В Казахстане успешно работает еще один благотворительный образовательный проект — сеть британских школ Haileybury, которые представлены в Алматы и Нур-Султане. Ученики Haileybury Kazakhstan являются призерами международных олимпиад, спортивных соревнований и творческих состязаний, а выпускники школ поступают в лучшие университеты мира.

С 2007 года Булат Утемуратов является Президентом Федерации тенниса Казахстана. В 2017 году его усилия по развитию тенниса были отмечены премиями Международной федерации тенниса и Азиатской федерации тенниса «за выдающиеся успехи в развитии тенниса в Казахстане».  В октябре 2020 года Казахстану впервые было доверено проведение престижного теннисного турнира АТР 250 Astana Open в г. Нур-Султан. Усилия Федерации тенниса по организации турнира в период пандемии с соблюдением всех санитарно-гигиенических норм получили высокую оценку ATP. 

Булат Утемуратов ходит в состав Совета директоров Международной федерации тенниса (International Tennis Federation, ITF), а с октября 2019 года является одним из четырех вице-президентов ITF.  Общий объем средств, выделенных меценатом на развитие тенниса в Казахстане - становление национальных сборных страны, проведение национальных и международных соревнований, развитие детского тенниса и строительство теннисной инфраструктуры - составляет порядка 85 миллионов долларов США.  Особого внимания заслуживает проект Team Kazakhstan, который дает шанс казахстанцам закрепиться в числе лучших игроков. Это уникальная спортивная школа, созданная для формирования собственного теннисного резерва игроков в национальные команды Кубка Дэвиса и Кубка Федерации. В целом, в Казахстане ежегодно проходят около 40 международных турниров серии ITF, ITF futures, ITF Juniors, ATF и ATP Challenger.

«Создание инфраструктуры, развитие детского тенниса и кропотливая работа профессиональной команды управленцев и тренеров вывели казахстанский теннис на качественно новый международный уровень. Уверен, что использование такого подхода в других видах спорта со временем позволит Казахстану стать одним из основных центров для проведения значимых спортивных мероприятий, в том числе мирового уровня», — подвел итоги 10-летней работы во главе Федерации тенниса Булат Утемуратов.

Булат Утемуратов активно поддерживает культуру и искусство. Является председателем Попечительского совета Фонда развития и поддержки балета и национального танца, поддерживает Фонд имени казахстанского музыканта Батырхана Шукенова, финансирует проведение республиканского конкурса деревянных и медных духовых инструментов и стипендий для талантливой учащейся молодежи музыкальных школ и ВУЗов по всей стране. Под его патронажем проходят регулярные выставки Центра современного искусства Куланши в выставочном пространстве Forte Bank Kulanshi Art Space. Булат Утемуратов является почетным попечителем Назарбаев Фонда. За вклад в развитие города Алматы и оказанную благотворительную помощь во время пандемии коронавируса, Булат Утемуратов был награжден званием «Почетного гражданина города Алматы» в сентябре 2020 года.